When I Think About All the LORD Has Done: Reflections at Age 27

The longer I live, the more I love being intentional about reflecting on life thus far at certain times of the year.  Besides New Years, birthdays are a great time to think about where I’ve come from and where I’m headed, Lord willing.  Today, I can’t help but feel thankful about the many blessings the LORD has brought into my life.  Perhaps I should make a list.

I’m thankful for my birth – 5:03am twenty-seven years ago today.

I’m thankful for my parents – from day one they loved me, provided for me, served me, disciplined me, taught me, prayed for me, took me to church, coached me, trusted me, made brothers for me to play with, and have been my biggest fans.

I’m thankful for my brudders – Matthew and Daniel have been great friends over the years.

I’m thankful for my childhood
– so many things about growing up in Ashland, OH were great.  It is a great community, where I was first educated, and first learned what it means to play nice.

I’m thankful for my extended family – the LORD must have hand-picked my grandparents, aunts & uncles, and cousins because they are all great people doing great things with their lives as they serve our LORD.  We don’t get to pick our families, but I’d definitely pick mine!

I’m thankful for Jesus Christ
– The LORD called me to saving faith at such a young age.  It has changed everything I have been, what I’ve become and what I will grow to be.  Jesus has changed it all for the better.

I’m thankful for Ashland Grace Brethren Church – what a blessing to grow up in a church that loves God, preaches his Word, and teaches how to live as a Christ-follower.  So many opportunities to grow, minister, travel, fellowship, and do life together.  So many who poured into my life!

I’m thankful for my time at Ashland High School
– As high schools go, Ashland was top notch.  I’ll never forget playing basketball, writing for the school newspaper, the day the water main broke, early mornings at FCA, AP Government, AP Calculus (my experience, not the content), and the many friends I made there.

I’m thankful for my time at Taylor University
– Taylor was a place where my faith continued to be formed and stretched.  I made life-long friends,  learned how to lead, and love those who I couldn’t agree with less.  Taylor was a great place to study!

I’m thankful for my mentor Dr. Snyder – Steve Snyder poured into my life like he pours into so many of his students.  I grew in my understanding of evangelism and discipleship and avoided many pour decisions through his guidance.

I’m thankful for Twin City Bible Baptist Church
– the people of Twin City embraced me and let me spread my wings in various ministries.  They are down-to-earth, loving people.  I preached my first sermon at Twin City (and they didn’t walk out).  What a great fellowship!

I’m thankful for the Irish Studies Program Spring ‘01 – God was so good in sending me to Ireland to study with the wonderful friends and family of ISP ’01.  Memories we will all cherish forever!

I’m thankful God led me to Colorado Springs – When I think about the last three years in Colorado Springs, I couldn’t be more thankful for community God has brought into my life.  What a beautiful place to live and beautiful people to live with.

I’m thankful for Pierced Chapel – my faith community at Pierced has been a constant source of encouragement and challenge.  Pierced has weathered many a storm and we’re stronger for it.

I’m thankful for The Classical Academy – what a great place to learn how to teach!  I’m most appreciative for the wonderful students I’ve been able to work with at TCA.  It has been a privilege!

I’m thankful for the Rozmaireks – never has hospitality been more clearly defined then in these two bright lights.  I’ve been so blessed and enriched to live in their home this last year.

I’m thankful for Denver Seminary – my seminary journey has been a winding one.  I’m thankful to have settled where I started.  A couple more years, lots of late nights and early mornings, and a whole lot of cash; and I’ll be so very much more prepared for the future only God knows.

The more I think about this list, the more I’m convinced it just scratches the surface.  God has been so good to me!  In good times and hard times, it is overwhelming to think of so much grace flowing to one person in such a short period of time.

This entry was posted in Thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

