Get Smart, Save Time

One of the things we’ve forgotten about reading is that it doesn’t have to take all day to be beneficial.  I once read that reading is absorbing and processing as much information as possible as quickly as possible.  Toward the end of my college career, I realized the way I had always been taught to read wasn’t the best method for me.

Now, I read using rapid skims looking for meaning and rarely (for non-fiction) reading word-by-word, page-by-page.  I look for the author’s main points and sub-points as fast as possible.  Then I drill in on things I want to understand more.  Then I move on.

This technique has taken years to tweak, but at the moment I can “read” several books in one sitting.  One tool that is helpful (although, it might make English teachers cringe) is Wiki Summaries.  This page offers concise summaries of many popular and classic books.  In fifteen minutes, you can quickly glean all the main points of a book.  I check back often to see new books that are being added.  You may never take time to read The Audacity of Hope, but you can understand the book’s basic premises reading the quick summary.

Check it out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

