Ten Books Every Christian Should Read

A colleague recently asked me to compile the 10 books I believe that every Christian should read. It was a tough to limit it to ten, but I boiled it down to these, mostly because they have been the books I believe have influenced me the most.

1. Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan

2. Desiring God by John Piper

3. Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

4. Knowing God by J.I. Packer

5. The Glory of Christ by John Owen

6. The Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer

7. The Hidden Life of Prayer by David McIntyre

8. The Letters of Samuel Rutherford

9. The Prodigal God by Tim Keller

10. The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer

What books would you add to this list?

This entry was posted in Best Of, Books. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ten Books Every Christian Should Read

  1. Lerato says:

    Reading Knowing God for the second time and it’s cutting me real deep…

  2. Awesome list! “Letters of Samuel Rutherford” is new to me. I need to read that one! Another book that has influenced me is Brother Lawrence’s “Practicing the Presence of God.”

  3. Mara says:

    Two of my utmost favorites are “What’s So Amazing About Grace?” and “The Jesus I Never Knew” both by Philip Yancey. Such great reads and with glorious truths Mr. Yancey put out there which I’ve never seen before in quite the same perspective.

  4. Carole says:

    Great! I love a good Must Read List! I would add:
    Hinds’ Feet On High Places by Hannah Hurdard

  5. Nat says:

    I would add, “Crazy Love”, by Francis Chan. It challenges you to face the reality of what your spiritual life with God is, and what it should be.

  6. Thanks for posting these – I definitly want to get at some of these sometime. I just finished listening to Pilgrim’s Progress for the first time ever. Currently I’m working on Holiness by JC Ryle – amazing old book. Korey http://www.papermovement.com

  7. Josh Gadsby says:

    Explicit Gospel, Matt Chandler. Faith interrupted, AW Tozer. Erasing Hell, Francis Chan. The righteous shall live by faith, RC Sproul.

  8. Jason Haas says:

    Very heady books – not a bad thing – but I’d include on my list “Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire” and “This Present Darkness.” The former being meant to encourage and show the fruitful results of persistent prayer, and the latter as a reminder (through fiction) of the bigger picture of God’s reality. Cheers!

  9. Teresa says:

    Heaven by Randy Alcorn

    Someone once said “if you aim at nothing you’ll be sure to get it”. So read about what you are aiming for!

Leave a Reply

